top of page

Hold On

Kahle Headshot.jpg

Michael Kahle

Michael Kahle (b. 1996) explores the emotional gamut in his stylistically all-inclusive music. He is unafraid to combine traditional compositional techniques with contemporary and evocative approaches. This does not mean that his music is always serious, but instead Kahle enjoys presenting the juxtaposition of the contemplative and the comical. 

A composer who loves collaboration in the creative process, his ambition is to work with performers and ensembles to deliver emotionally driven music. Recent collaborations and commissions include working with New Music Harpist Danielle Kuntz on a set of harp pieces, new music group Sputter Box, and the James Madison University Saxophone Ensemble. In addition, his wind ensemble piece, With Them, was a previous winner of the New Music for Wind Ensemble Competition at James Madison University.

Kahle began his Doctor of Musical Arts degree at West Virginia University this past fall. He holds a Master of Music degree in Music Composition from James Madison University and his Bachelor of Music in Music Education with a Concentration in Composition from Westminster College (PA).

Kahle is a member of ASCAP and his music is either self-published or through M&M Music Press LLC.



  • Solo Eb Alto Saxophone 

  • Flute, Bb Clarinet, F Horn, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Eb Baritone Saxophone, Percussion and Piano

Project Length

  • 5 movement work that will be between 12-17 minutes long

Project Timeline

  1. The Consortium will open for buy-in on April 4, 2022, and close April 25, 2022.

  2. The Piano Reduction will be delivered digitally to the Tier 2 and Tier 3 Supporters by July 1, 2022.

    1. Digital Copies of the Completed Score will be sent by August 1, 2022.

    2. Tier 3 Supporters will receive the printed copy postmarked on or before Sept 1, 2022.

  3. Exclusivity: Once the piano Reduction is received by a Tier 2 or Tier 3 member, they will have exclusive performance rights through December 31, 2023.

    1. Minimum of one performance of the work is required as part of the exclusivity agreement.

      1. Performance with Piano Reduction fulfills this requirement.

  4. Tier 1 Supporters will receive their study score by August 1, 2022.

Project Details

Commissioned by Anthony Cincotta, Hold On is a Chamber Concerto for Eb Alto Saxophone that serves as a meditation on the concept of time based on poetry written by the composer. Each movement’s title is one line of the 5-line poem giving the piece a 5 movement structure in total. The work itself is not programatic, however, each movement will be written with the essence and picture of each line in mind. The poem is as follows:

“Hold On”

We live in the weird spaces in-between.
Flittering, Fluttering, Flickering,
Yearning to share more of it,
Wishing for each other’s presence,
Time moves on.

Another importance characteristic of the piece is that the work is being written with the playability of the piano reduction in mind. If you are a student, or any one in a position that is unsure if they can get the players to program the piece as a whole, please still strongly consider joining the consortium. Performing with the piano reduction does not only fill the requirement to join the consortium, but it is also welcomed and encouraged.

Hold On will be premiered by Anthony Cincotta in the Fall of 2022.

bottom of page